NASL News Release
Teams in Minnesota and Atlanta Added for 2011 Season

November 10, 2010 — The North American Soccer League (“NASL”) recently concluded its 2010 Annual General Meeting held in Miami, Florida on November 7th and 8th.  The meeting was highlighted by the approval of two additional teams for the 2011 season – the NSC Minnesota Stars and the Atlanta Silverbacks – and their inclusion in the application to the United States Soccer Federation for sanctioning as a Division II league.  The completed application, which was originally submitted with six teams on September 28, 2010, was submitted to the Federation immediately following the conclusion of the meeting.

The application also includes San Antonio (which will commence play in 2012) and an additional team to be announced (which will commence play in 2013).  The NASL is looking forward to favorable consideration of the application by the Board of Directors of the USSF at its meeting on November 21 in Toronto, Canada.

Haz click en la imagen para más información.

“This is an exciting time for the NASL as it nears the finish line in its two year quest for second division sanctioning from the USSF.  We were encouraged by fans to return second division soccer to Atlanta after a two season hiatus and are thrilled that over twenty years of continuous professional play in Minnesota will continue in 2011 and beyond ” said Aaron Davidson CEO of the NASL.

Club owners and general managers will continue working on developing the schedule for the 2011 season over the coming weeks. The NASL plans to release the opening weekend schedule of games later this month.

The North American Soccer League (NASL) was established in November 2009. The NASL member teams include: Atlanta Silverbacks  (resuming play in 2011 and  2022 FIFA World Cup ™ Bid City), Carolina RailHawks, FC Baltimore( 2022 FIFA World Cup ™ Bid City) , FC Edmonton, Miami FC  (2022 FIFA World Cup ™ Bid City), NSC Minnesota Stars, Montreal Impact (joining MLS in 2012), Puerto Rico Islanders, Rochester Rhinos, San Antonio (beginning play in 2012), AC St. Louis, FC Tampa Bay (2022 FIFA World Cup ™ Bid City) and Vancouver Whitecaps FC (joining MLS in 2011). The NASL has applied to the United States Soccer Federation for sanctioning as an independent second division league starting in the 2011.



Haz click en la imagen y únete a la comunidad hoy.