By: BoriQa | May 17th, 2009

The Puerto Rico Islanders lost their 2nd Championship match ever, as they were defeated 2-1 by W. Connection in the 2009 CFU Club Champions Cup final. (the other lost championship match was the 2008 USL Final 2-1 against the Vancouver Whitecaps).

It was the first CFU final ever for the Islanders, and the 2nd time ever facing W. Connection. The Islanders are now 0-0-2 [W-T-L] against the Trinbagonians (the other loss was 1-0 in the group stage at the 2006 CFU Club Champions Cup)

Haz click para descubrir más sobre Neuro Sports

W. Connection got an early 2-0 lead with goals on the 7th and 20th minute. The Islanders cut their lead in half with a goal by Martin Nuñez (Sean Fraser got the assist) 10 munites before halftime (35th). On the 54th minute the Islanders missed their biggest opportunity to tie the game with a failed penalty kick by Petter Villegas. The Trinidadian goalkeeper jumped to the left, and Villegas who had an open shot to the right, missed wide.

The Islanders had several opportunities to score the tying goal, but were unable to complete the play.

The Islanders starting lineup included: Chris McClellan (GK), Nigel Henry, Alexis Rivera (Nick Addlery 84′), Sean Fraser, Martin Nuñez (Jonathan Steele 70′), John Krausse, Fabrice Noël, Kyle Veris, Andres Cabrero (Kendall Jagdeosingh 70′), Kevon Villaroel, Petter Villegas.

The championship-caliber bench tonight included: Bill Gaudette (GK – 2008 USL Goalie of the Year), Jonathan Steele (2008 USL MVP), Noah Delgado (Islanders Captain), Cristian Arrieta (2008 Defenceman of the Year), Sandy Gbandy (3 goals in 2008-09 CCL), Kendall Jagdeosingh (3 goals in 2008-09 CCL) and Nicholas Addlery (3 goals in 2008-09 CCL).

The Reserve players present in Trinidad, but not included in the 18-men roster for the game were: Josh Hansen, Scott Jones and James Marcelin.

On other news, San Juan Jabloteh earned the 3rd spot in the 2009-10 CONCACAF Champions League, as they defeated Tempête FC by a 2-1 score in the 3rd place CFU match.