With a higher than expected turnout, the 1st ever PasionNaranja Islanders Fan Awards accomplished what was originally intended – to involve a large number of ‘Tropa Naranja’ fans in selecting the players to receive honors for their accomplishments throughout the season. While some categories were very close calls, others were won by landslide votes. It is important to note that the fans are appreciative of the efforts of all our players and that these awards are simply a way to recognize outstanding performances and to encourage even more such performances in the future. Our hope is that these fan awards will become a yearly tradition in the Islanders fan community.

Haz click para descubrir más sobre Neuro Sports

Now, to announce the winners:

Rookie of the Year – Nicholas Addlery

041809-VAN-PR62% of participants had little trouble in choosing the Jamaican international as rookie of the year. Coming from the Vancouver Whitecaps, Addlery immediately made a positive impact in both the USL and the CONCACAF Champions League (CCL).

Most Improved Player – Scott Jones


In the closest results of the awards, Scott Jones was chosen as the most improved player on the team this year with 22% of the vote. Jones’ improvement has been marked since the beginning of this season. While he was a fairly unnoticed player last year, this season has seen him become an essential player on the team with his physical ability and passion.


Defensive Player of the Year – Cristian Arrieta

Arrieta, defensive player of the year in the USL-1 for 2008 earned the same title but from the Islanders’ fans with 50% of the vote. Since his arrival on the team, Cristian Arrieta has been a key defensive player as well as often adding to the team’s offense.

Offensive Player of the Year – Nicholas Addlery

Showing how important his contribution has been this year, Nicholas Addlery easily earned ‘offensive player of the year’ honors with 49% of the vote.

Most Valuable Player – Bill Gaudette

BIll GaudetteIn the most popular category of the awards, 60% of the voters chose Islanders goalkeeper Bill Gaudette as the team’s most valuable player. Gaudette returned to Puerto Rico for his second year with the team and has proved to be a key figure on the field. And a fan favorite for his spectacular saves.

Franchise Player – Noah Delgado

noah_delgadoThe category of franchise player was decided by Puerto Rico and US based media, journalists, and bloggers who follow the Islanders. Noah Delgado was chosen as the player to best demonstrate leadership and passion in and out of the field. Since his arrival on the team, Delgado has continued improving and developing as a player and a leader.

*We would like to thank the following people for participating in the franchise player vote:

Eduardo Cantore – Editor of

Esteban Pagan – Journalist, Primera Hora

Vicente Hernandez – OneLink commentator

Sergio Castro – Soccer TV, and FBTV commentator and Islanders U-17 coach

Luis Santiago Arce – Journalist, El Nuevo Dia

Jose Carrillo – Editor of Islanders page at TheOffside

Julio Ortega – Columnist at

Kartik Krishnaiyer – Editor of MLS Talk and The Kartik Report

Edwin Jusino –



Artículo anteriorIslanders vs. Impact: chocan viejos enemigos
Artículo siguienteMontreal: el rival de turno
Director Ejecutivo de Graduado del programa doctoral de Historia de las Américas de la Universidad Interamericana de Puerto Rico Recinto Metropolitano. Lleva más de una década cubriendo el fútbol de Puerto Rico. Finalizó su disertación doctoral sobre el pasado presidente de la FPF, el Dr. Roberto Monroig. Hincha del Club Atlético de Madrid y de la Selección Nacional de Fútbol de Puerto Rico. Puede contactarle via twitter o Instagram en @erjusinoa