USL Hall of Fame & Awards Dinner highlights annual meetings at SoccerFest

USL News Release

Saturday, November 22, 2008

TAMPA, FL — United Soccer Leagues officially closed the door on the 2008 season for its senior leagues Friday night at the USL Hall of Fame and Awards Dinner as they recognized outstanding performances by its member teams and executives for the season along with the 2008 Hall of Fame induction ceremony at the Hyatt Regency Tampa.

Onstad returned to the USL spotlight one more time (A Andrews)The festivities opened with USL Executive Vice President and COO Tim Holt recognizing the Brooklyn Knights, Central Florida Kraze, Northern Virginia Majestics and Westchester Flames as 10+ Club members of the Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame ceremony then transitioned into the recognition of the three individual’s selected as Players and Builders by the previous Hall of Fame inductees and Francisco Marcos, the founder and President of USL. USL Hall of Fame Player and Minnesota Thunder President Manny Lagos inducted former teammate Amos Magee, Rochester Rhinos head coach accepted honors for former teammate Pat Onstad, and Majestics owner Tim Schweitzer honored Builder Mo Sheta.

Earlier in the day at the Opening Lunch presented by Demosphere, USL also recognized two individuals with Lasting Contribution awards for their dedicated service to USL, honoring Cultural Videos and Sports Communications owner and producer David Bolton and Monument Sports Group agency founder Mark Grossman.

The evening concluded with the annual organizational and executive awards which are presented each year for excellence off the field over the past season in the USL First Division, USL Second Division, Premier Development League and W-League.

USL Organizational & Executive Honors

USL First Division
Regular Season Champions: Puerto Rico Islanders
Fair Play: Puerto Rico Islanders
Marketing: Portland Timbers
Communications: Vancouver Whitecaps
Key Grip: Lindsay Puchlik, Vancouver Whitecaps
Sprinturf Executive of the Year: Andrew Bell, Charleston Battery
Organization of the Year: Puerto Rico Islanders

USL Second Division
Regular Season Champions: Charlotte Eagles
Fair Play: Charlotte Eagles
Marketing: Wilmington Hammerheads
Communications: Richmond Kickers
Key Grip: Micah Pigott, Richmond Kickers
Sprinturf Executive of the Year: Tom Engstrom, Charlotte Eagles
Rookie Franchise of the Year: Pittsburgh Riverhounds
Organization of the Year: Cleveland City Stars

Premier Development League
Regular Season Champions: Michigan Bucks
Fair Play: Fort Wayne Fever
Marketing: Laredo Heat
Communications: Ventura County Fusion
Key Grip: Scott Taylor, Mississippi Brilla
Sprinturf Executive of the Year: Gali Maimon, Brooklyn Knights
Rookie Franchise of the Year: Austin Aztex
Organization of the Year: Ocean City Barons

Regular Season Champions: Pali Blues
Fair Play: West Michigan Firewomen
Marketing: Rochester Rhinos
Communications: Jersey Sky Blue
Key Grip: Kenzo Bergeron, Pali Blues
Sprinturf Executive of the Year: Anton Maksimov, FC Indiana Lionesses
Rookie Franchise of the Year: FC Indiana Lionesses
Organization of the Year: Pali Blues

Additional Awards
USL Progress Award: Puerto Rico Islanders
Lasting Contribution: Dave Bolton; Mark Grossman
USL Employee of the Year: Lee Cohen



Haz click en la imagen y únete a la comunidad hoy.
Artículo anteriorMás premios para los Islanders
Artículo siguienteAnuncian 4ta Copa Las Américas en Cayey
Director Ejecutivo de Graduado del programa doctoral de Historia de las Américas de la Universidad Interamericana de Puerto Rico Recinto Metropolitano. Lleva más de una década cubriendo el fútbol de Puerto Rico. Finalizó su disertación doctoral sobre el pasado presidente de la FPF, el Dr. Roberto Monroig. Hincha del Club Atlético de Madrid y de la Selección Nacional de Fútbol de Puerto Rico. Puede contactarle via twitter o Instagram en @erjusinoa