Sean Williams/ Jamaica Observer

Friday, May 15, 2009

Digicel Premier League (DPL) leading goal scorer Devon Hodges of Rivoli United heads a list of eight first-time invitees to the Reggae Boyz squad which assembles for a camp starting on Monday in preparation for Jamaica’s friendly international against Haiti next Saturday in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

HODGES… leads DPL goalscoring table with 23 goals

The 24-year-old Hodges, who has scored 23 goals in the Digicel Premier League (DPL) so far, joins Harbour View’s central defender Dicoy Williams and Tivoli Gardens central midfielder Jerry Walters as rookies to the senior set-up.

Of the other first-time senior invitees, the Boys’ Town duo of George Vernal and Michael Campbell, Bryan Bayliss (Portmore United), Kenardo Forbes (Waterhouse) and Nicholas Addlery of the Puerto Rico Islanders have all represented the country at the youth level.

The 30-man squad is largely local-based and includes other notables such as Meadhaven’s Keammar Daley who figured prominently in Jamaica’s silver medal performance in the 2007 Pan American Games in Brazil.

Making a return to the national fold after missing the World Cup qualifiers and the Digicel Caribbean Championships in December is the Norway-based midfielder Khari Stephenson.

The veteran Ian Goodison, Queens Park Rangers’ Player of the Year Damion Stewart, Claude Davis, midfielder Jason Morrison, the Wolfe brothers – Wolry and Rafe – complete the list of overseas-based players invited.

Full Squad: Goalkeepers Shawn Sawyers (Portmore United), Dwayne Miller (Harbour View), Duwayne Kerr (Portmore United); defenders Claude Davis (Derby County), Damion Stewart (Queens Park Rangers), Ian Goodison (Tranmere Rovers), Eric Vernon (Portmore United), Andre Campbell (Portmore United), Adrian Reid (Portmore United), Desmond Breakenridge (Arnett Gardens), Keithy Simpson (Vancouver White Caps), Dicoy Williams (Harbour View), Lance Laing (Harbour View), Rafe Wolfe (Ferencvaros); midfielders Jason Morrison(Ferencvaros), Wolry Wolfe (Ferencvaros), Khari Stephenson (Aalesunds FK), Richard Edwards (Harbour View), Oraine Simpson (Tivoli Gardens), Jerry Walters (Tivoli Gardens), Bryan Bayliss (Portmore United); forwardsNicholas Addlery (Puerto Rico Islanders), Roland Dean (Tivoli Gardens), George Vernal (Boys’ Town), Keammar Daley (Meadhaven), Newton Sterling (Arnett Gardens), Navion Boyd (Tivoli Gardens), Kenardo Forbes (Waterhouse), Michael Campbell (Boys’ Town) and Devon Hodges (Rivoli)



Haz click en la imagen y únete a la comunidad hoy.
Artículo anteriorIslanders buscan otro pase a la Concacaf
Artículo siguienteIslanders set for CFU Final Four
Director Ejecutivo de Graduado del programa doctoral de Historia de las Américas de la Universidad Interamericana de Puerto Rico Recinto Metropolitano. Lleva más de una década cubriendo el fútbol de Puerto Rico. Finalizó su disertación doctoral sobre el pasado presidente de la FPF, el Dr. Roberto Monroig. Hincha del Club Atlético de Madrid y de la Selección Nacional de Fútbol de Puerto Rico. Puede contactarle via twitter o Instagram en @erjusinoa