02:33 PM CST on Wednesday, January 21, 2009

The Austin Aztex have announced their first regular season schedule, with 15 home games in the works.

Anuncio
Haz click en la imagen para más información.

Nelson Field will be buzzing the first week of the regular season as the Aztex play three home games including the season opener on Saturday, April 18 against the Minnesota Thunder. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30pm on opening night.

Three days later the Aztex welcome the USL-1 defending champion Vancouver Whitecaps on Tuesday, April 21. To conclude the first week, on Saturday, April 25, Austin hosts the Cleveland City Stars, which was promoted from USL-2 in the offseason.

“We’re very excited to offer our fans so many home games to start the season,” said team owner Phil Rawlins. “We will have a tremendous atmosphere for our home games at Nelson Field and hope the fans come out and support the Aztex in what we hope to be a very successful first season in USL-1.”

Two weeks later the Aztex return to action in front of a partisan crowd at Nelson Field and a national television audience. The Aztex-Puerto Rico Islanders game will be the USL-1’s featured game of the week on Fox Soccer Channel. For head coach Adrian Heath, the nationally televised game is a perfect opportunity to show soccer fans in the U.S. what kind of soccer and fan support Austin has to offer.

“We know our fans will support the club and the game on Fox Soccer Channel will allow them to show the rest of the nation that this is a proper soccer organization from the front office, to the players, and including all the fans,” Heath said.

Following the team’s first road game at Montreal on May 17, the Aztex return home for a four-game home stand starting on Sunday, May 24 against the Carolina Railhawks. Five days later on Friday, May 29, the Puerto Rico Islanders return to Austin for the team’s final visit of the regular season.

To wrap up the early-season home games, the Aztex play a pair of games against the Charleston Battery, which defeated the Houston Dynamo and FC Dallas in the 2008 U.S. Open Cup before losing in the finals to D.C. United, 2-1. The Battery comes to the Capital City for games on Friday, June 5 and Sunday, June 7.

The remaining home schedule includes two additional games in June against the Carolina Railhawks (Friday, June 19) and Rochester Rhinos (Sunday, June 21), two games in July against the Portland Timbers (Saturday, July 11) and Montreal Impact (Saturday, July 25), two games in August against the Minnesota Thunder (Sunday, Aug. 16) and Miami FC (Saturday, Aug. 29), and the final home game on Monday, Sept. 7 against the Portland Timbers.

In addition to the regular season, the Aztex will play three pre-season MLS exhibition games (New England Revolution – Feb. 28; Houston Dynamo – Mar. 7; Columbus Crew – Mar. 14) as well as a couple of friendlies during the season.

2009 AUSTIN AZTEX USL-1 SCHEDULE

DATE

HOME

AWAY

TIME

Sat., April 18

AUSTIN

Minnesota Thunder

7:30pm

Tue., April 21

AUSTIN

Vancouver Whitecaps

7:30pm

Sat., April 25

AUSTIN

Cleveland City Stars

7:30pm

*Fri., May 8

AUSTIN

Puerto Rico Islanders

7:00pm

Sun., May 17

Montreal Impact

AUSTIN

2:45pm

Sun., May 24

AUSTIN

Carolina Railhawks

6:00pm

Fri., May 29

AUSTIN

Puerto Rico Islanders

7:30pm

*Fri., June 5

AUSTIN

Charleston Battery

7:00pm

Sun., June 7

AUSTIN

Charleston Battery

6:00pm

*Fri., June 12

Puerto Rico Islanders

AUSTIN

7:00pm

Sun., June 14

Miami FC

AUSTIN

5:00pm

Fri., June 19

AUSTIN

Carolina Railhawks

7:30pm

Sun., June 21

AUSTIN

Rochester Rhinos

6:00pm

Sat., June 27

Cleveland City Stars

AUSTIN

6:00pm

*Fri., July 3

Cleveland City Stars

AUSTIN

7:00pm

Sun., July 5

Rochester Rhinos

AUSTIN

2:00pm

Sat., July 11

AUSTIN

Portland Timbers

7:30pm

Sat., July 18

Minnesota Thunder

AUSTIN

7:05pm

Sat., July 25

AUSTIN

Montreal Impact

7:30pm

Thu., July 30

Charleston Battery

AUSTIN

6:30pm

Sat., Aug. 1

Carolina Railhawks

AUSTIN

6:00pm

Sat., Aug. 8

Rochester Rhinos

AUSTIN

6:35pm

Sun., Aug. 16

AUSTIN

Minnesota Thunder

6:00pm

*Sun., Aug. 23

Montreal Impact

AUSTIN

2:45pm

Sat., Aug. 29

AUSTIN

Miami FC

7:30pm

Wed., Sept. 2

Vancouver Whitecaps

AUSTIN

9:30pm

Sat., Sept. 5

Miami FC

AUSTIN

7:00pm

Mon., Sept. 7

AUSTIN

Portland Timbers

6:00pm

Fri., Sept. 11

Portland Timbers

AUSTIN

9:00pm

Sun., Sept. 13

Vancouver Whitecaps

AUSTIN

6:00pm

*Nationally televised on Fox Soccer Channel

http://www.kvue.com/sports/stories/012109kvueaztex-mb.177cefae.html

Comentarios

Comentarios

Artículo anteriorWhitecaps acquire Toure
Artículo siguienteLos Islanders ponen fin a sus vacaciones
Edwin Jusino
Director Ejecutivo de FutbolBoricua.net. Actualmente estudiante de Historia de las Américas en programa combinado Maestría/PhD de la Universidad Interamericana de Puerto Rico, Recinto Metropolitano. Lleva más de una década cubriendo el fútbol de Puerto Rico. Actualmente está trabajando su disertación doctoral sobre el pasado presidente de la FPF, el Dr. Roberto Monroig. Hincha del Club Atlético de Madrid y de la Selección Nacional de Fútbol de Puerto Rico. Puede contactarle via twitter o Instagram en @erjusinoa